DIY Bulletin Board

Standard

Two summers ago I found a great plastic frame in a garage sale with the intention of buying some cork board to make it into a bulletin board.  I loved the shape and like my daughter it reminded me of a magic mirror.  Needless to say the only cork I could find in the stores we in frames and it didn’t make any sense to me to buy something on our limited budget only to destroy it.  So it has sat behind our couch for the last eighteen months as a sad little reminder of what could have been.  Any time I need to get something from behind the couch I would see it there and get a little sad that my best laid plan was a bust.  A couple of days ago I got a great idea… I could use cardboard covered in fabric instead of expensive cork.  So I used my glue gun with some trusty dollar store glue and some old fabric from my daughter’s curtains.

015017018020

Then I glued the fabric covered cardboard into the frame.  I first tried the glue gun but it didn’t hold. Luckily we have some Gorilla Glue and I had a lot more success.  After everything was secure I pinned a few family pictures in place and then added a few scrap booking flowers onto the front for decoration.  A copper colored ribbon that I had on had for another craft I never seemed to create was used as a hanger and it was ready for my daughter’s wall.  I do love how it turned out and how I was able to put pictures of the important people in her life in one place.

022

Leave a Reply

